Notices

Great community. Great ideas.

Welcome to ASP/Free, a community dedicated to helping beginners and professionals alike in improving their knowledge of Microsoft's development and administration technologies. Sign up today to gain access to the combined insight of tens of thousands of members.

Thread: Beginner stuck and looking for guidance

Share This Thread →
    EWJ2l is offline Registered User

Beginner stuck and looking for guidance

I'm fairly new to Access, but thought it would be a good tool for a project that I'm working on. I volunteer at a small warehouse that processes packages. The current method of processing involves placing new packages on numbered shelves and putting a blank sticky label on each box. I then write the recipients name name, date, shelf number, and a "box number" on the label. The "box number" starts at 1, counts up for each new box on the shelf, and resets for each shelf and for each day. Once all boxes are labeled, I fill out a pre-printed form that duplicates the information on the label and has 4 forms per sheet of paper, which are separated and delivered to the box recipients. This serves as notification that they have a package available for pickup and also allows me to find the package when they arrive to pick it up. The problem is that much of the data is the same each day, so manually filling it out is unnecessarily time consuming, which is where I'm trying to use Access.

As a first step, I am trying to use Access to create the notice slips that have the date, shelf number, and "box number" already filled in, making it so that I only need to write the name from the corresponding package label.

I currently have:
    - "Shelf Number" table
    - Report that has all the labels, current date, and takes up 1/4 sheet of paper