1. No Profile Picture
    ASP Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

Hide zero value fields in form or report, Help!

I've been using Access for a while, but I am entirely self taught, and I've hit a problem I can't figure out.

I have a table with about 100 columns, which has about a thousand rows in it, which the user can narrow down with a query to a specific date, leaving them with only 30 rows or so. When this is done however, many of the columns are filled entirely with zeros, which the user doesn't want to have to print out when the print out the selection they've made. Is there any way that these fields can be hidden on either a pivot table, or a report, leaving them with only the data that they need, which they can then print out?

Thanks a lot!
  3. Contributing User
    ASP Adventurer (500 - 999 posts)

Not sure about pivot reports, I don't really use them, but in a report instead of simply using the field name as the record source for a text box you can use:
    =iif([YourFieldNameHere] = 0,null,[YourFieldNameHere])
    If your doing further calculations in you report don't forget to include the nz function to handle your new null values.
  5. No Profile Picture

That doesn't quite work, because the user wants to be able to print the result as a grid, which just misses out all the columns which contain only zeros. When I do what you said, the results is just #TYPE! in all of the boxes.

I also have the sum of the columns, which again the non-zero ones should be displayed if that helps.
  7. Contributing User

That should work, no reason it shouldn't. Can you post your Database to a file share site so we can take a look. (Strip any confidential information and compact and repair it first.) Without seeing what you are doing there's really no way to know what the problem is at this point.
  9. No Profile Picture

Here's the link:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/2x822pe9cv...Database.accdb