1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    ASP Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

Question Update Query Button Not Updating Field on Form

I've been using Access for nearly 8 years. I have an extensive database which I created from the ground up, which several of my coworkers use. I avoid doing sql, vb, or other coded bits if I can. Sometimes I need to use sql or vb for particular functions that I need in my database, so I can do it if I have to. My usual method is cut and pasting sql, etc. from help sites, changing the relevant parts for my database. So, while I'm better at understanding the coded functions of a database than I was when I started, I'm still not exactly advanced in those areas. So, if there's a way that I can fix this problem by using the menus, built-in access functions, or by changing properties, that would be excellent. If the solution lies in code, I can do it--but I'm going to need to know where to input that code. I can try to figure it out on my own, but any help that I could get would be much appreciated.

Here's the situation: I was asked to create a check request form which will print out check request report. Each record has 3 amount fields which need to be totaled in the Total Amount field. I know that keeping calculated fields in a table is inadvisable, but I'm not really sure how else to do this. I have an update query which adds the amounts in the 3 fields together, updating the Total Amount field. I put a button on my form which is supposed to run that query, and supposedly it is running, but it is not actually updating the field. Sometimes it does update on a couple of the records, but it is not consistent and I can't figure out why it just won't work.