1. No Profile Picture
    ASP Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

Help Converting .bak to .mdb

Hello everyone,

I'm very new to ASP, so please forgive my ignorance with terminology etc. I have a colleague who needs to migrate an ASP website from the current hosts to our own hosting. We have a .bak file and FTP access. We've moved all the files over, but we're having trouble getting the database into a format that our hosting will support. I installed MS SQL Server Management Studio 2008 Express and I managed to import the .bak file into a local database. My colleague has also ended up with a .mdf file from somewhere, but I don't currently know how he did this. We can't use the .mdf file as our current hosting (Heart internet) doesn't support this, and requires either a .sql or a .mdb file.

Can anyone point me in the right direction to resolve this database issue? I don't even know if I'm using the right software, so any advice you can give me will be really appreciated.

Thank you.
  3. Contributing User
    ASP Skiller (1500 - 1999 posts)

For moving database from one server to another you can make existing database backup (usually it is .bak file), copy that file to new SQL server computer and restore database from backup on new server. MDF file is actual database file it is lucked to any access as long as server runs you can detach database from server in this case your MDF file will be removed from SQL server and you can transfer file from old server to new and attach database file do server on new server. I could be done in Microsoft management studio or from command line depend from what level of access you have
    GK
    __________________________________________________ _____
    if you found this post is useful click Give Rep button (bottom side on this reply ) and agree
  5. No Profile Picture

Hi,