Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. No Profile Picture
    ASP Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

Parser Error Message: Could not load type

I have seen this error reported numerous times in different forums, but haven't found the solution to my particular problem yet. I have created a few sample ASP.net apps, from a book I am studying, and haven't had any trouble compiling and running my apps, until recently. Now I get the following error when I create a new ASP.NET Web Application (VB.net) in VS.net, and "Start" the application.

-----------------------------------------------------------
    Parser Error
    Description: An error occurred during the parsing of a resource required to service this request. Please review the following specific parse error details and modify your source file appropriately.

Parser Error Message: Could not load type 'WebApplication2.Global'.

Source Error:

Line 1: <%@ Application Codebehind="Global.asax.vb" Inherits="WebApplication2.Global" %>

Source File: c:\inetpub\wwwroot\WebApplication2\global.asax Line: 1
    ---------------------------------------------------------------

It doesn't matter whether I add web controls to the form or not. I haven't knowingly changed anything about my environment since I was previously able to compile and run ASP.NET apps. And I'm not changing any of the default code that is generated by VS.NET before I attempt to start the application.

The suggestion solution to this error usually contains a warning that the application has not been built or is not located in the bin subdirectly of the virtual directory. But my app IS being built (WebApplication2.dll) and IS located in the bin subdirectly of my virtual directory.

I would appreciate any suggestions.
  3. No Profile Picture

IIS Application?

Is WebApplication2 configured as an application in IIS?
  5. No Profile Picture

Question Setting IIS Application Not Solving Problem